UPDATED: Adam Wainwright unlikely to play this year

If you are a Cardinals fan, then the past month or so have been absolutely excruciating with the Albert Pujols extension that never was.  But the news today has Cardinal Nation stunned, and if I am breaking this news for you, now would be the portion of our program where you sit down, as to not hurt yourself.

Go Ahead

I’ll wait.

No really, sit down.  I don’t want you to get light headed, fall, and hurt yourself.

Ok, now that you are safe, and your seat back and tray tables are in the upright and locked position, brace yourself for impact.  Today, it was announced that Adam Wainwright felt discomfort in his elbow, and there is probably ligament damage.  This injury makes it unlikely that he will play this season, and probable that he will get Tommy John surgery (or as I like to call it the “Dr. James Andrews special”)

I won’t paint a picture of “we’ll get past this” because anytime you lose someone of Wainwright’s caliber it’s a huge hit.  Waino has been in the running for the Cy Young the past three years (and I think the got robbed 2 years ago when Tim Lincecum won it, but let’t not get into that right now).  But, I don’t think it’s time to start thinking about football for Cardinals fan either (that, and the probability that there won’t be football next year).

Here is what I do know.  The offense should be quite a bit better, the clubhouse should be able to withstand such a blow, and we are about to learn quite a bit about Kyle McClellan, as he (in my opinion) will probably be the guy that will get first shot at the rotation spot.  Also, absorbing a Jaime Garcia sophomore slump has become almost impossible.

It’s a bad day for Cardinal Nation, but not quite ready to write this season off yet.  However, I do need to update my fantasy baseball draft strategy.

UPDATE:  Adam Wainwright to officially have Tommy John surgery, and will miss 12-15 months.  Since he will finish the season on the DL, he will be a free agent after this season.

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Cardinal Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

