Email of Encouragement from someone I greatly respect

Phillip Larsen

4709 N. Stanley

Warr Acres, OK 73122

Dear Phillip,

Thanks for sending me a copy of the blog that you wrote, entitled “Don’t Get Into a Land War in Asia.” You expressed yourself well and said some very, very important things. I appreciated the fact that something I had written a long time ago in my book, A Reasonable Faith, has remained with you. Interestingly, that little quote has gotten me into a lot of trouble. That’s really strange because the people that wrote to me, condemning me for saying what I did, imply that they themselves have a complete understanding of Scripture, a thorough understanding of the nature of God, and that nothing that they say is anything but the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Such arrogance—but then, there are many who clothe arrogance with the cloak of orthodoxy. We should strive to be faithful to God’s Word, but we have to avoid any belief that we have the final word on truth. The Scripture says, “We look through a glass darkly.” Until we see Him face to face, we will not have the whole story.

Thanks for referring me to your blog. I hope that many see it and learn from it because you have much to teach us all.

Sincerely,

Tony Campolo

You can also follow Tony Campolo on Facebook and Twitter

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Church Life, Contains Personal Information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

