“To Norman With Love”

I have a friend named Joey Armstrong who is the Community Pastor at First Baptist Church of Norman.  This weekend (specifically Saturday, May 21st), he is leading a program called “To Norman, With Love”.  I am asking all of my loyal readers (all 10 of you) to pray for him during this event.

Joey has a heart for homeless people.  His ministry specifically targets people in Norman who are frequently left behind, unloved, and forgotten.  Every Sunday, he hosts a service/luncheon for the homeless community of Norman, which I have on good authority is many things, but never boring.  “To Norman, With Love” is his brainchild.  He created and developed it out of his passion to serve those and reach out to those he feels that Jesus would reach out to.

To give you a quick glimpse of Joey, he is a wonderful individual.  I’ve known Joey since I moved to Tulsa and finished high school.  He was one of the people who befriended me quickly after my move.  He was incredibly popular in high school, while simultaneously being incredibly humble.  He plays guitar, can sing, incredibly intelligent, was voted Mr. Union (think Prom King meets Class President), and pretty much an overall great guy…I think I hate him (just kidding of course).

Joey is one of my closest friends.  He is a supporter of the things that I have done in ministry, and I am a supporter of his.  That is why I am exerting what little influence I have to call on everyone to pray for Joey and FBC Norman this weekend, and to encourage everyone else to do the same.  If you would pay this forward and share it with your Facebook/Twitter followers, I would appreciate it, and so would Joey.  I am curious to see what would happen if this call to prayer went viral.  What would happen to the Community Ministry at FBC Norman, and to the people that are affected by it?  Lets find out.

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Church Life, Contains Personal Information. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “To Norman With Love”

  1. Terry says:

    Phil…well said and thanks for encouraging the boy! Blessings

  2. Paul says:

    Thanks for the heads up. I can attest the fact that there is a great need in Norman for this sort of work. I’ll keep them in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

