UPDATED: Joplin, Missouri Tornado/Oklahoma Tornados

UPDATE: Oklahoma has suffered through an absolute rash of tornadic activity.  I am updating this post from the basement of Baptist Hospital in the medical records department.  Fortunately my wife works at Baptist, and we were let in and we are safe.  I have heard reports of lots of damage, injuries, missing loved ones, and overall hysteria.  If you are organizing any sort of relief effort through whatever means, please comment on this post, facebook status, or twitter update, and I will do my part in trying to get people organized to help.  The most devastating tornado passed right by my in-law’s house.  Fortunately they are on vacation, so I will be driving up there after everything calmed down to asses whatever damage…hopefully there will be none.

ORIGINAL POST: I am still plan on writing about the rapture that never was, but I want to take a minute to address a more pressing concern.  We will rejoin my thoughts on eschatology, already in progress, after sharing thoughts and a challenge regarding the Joplin tornado.

As many of you know, a massive tornado hit Joplin, Missouri.  An estimated 120 people have died as a result, and an estimated 75% of the city has been destroyed, including the major hospital.  Many of you have heard the astounding audio of the 20 people or so that rode the storm out in a gas station, thus demonstrating the sheer power of destructive power of a tornado.

Joplin has not seen much of a break in the weather as strong storms have continued to pound that area throughout the day.  I have even heard reports that rescue workers have been struck by lightning as they continue to search for survivors.  Even as I finish this post, Joplin is catching the tail end of another storm system.

If we are to call ourselves a people that follows Christ, then showing Christ’s love to a city that needs to feel the presence of God now more than ever before is paramount.  As you read this post, please do a little research and send aid to organizations on the ground.  Below is a link from MSNBC which details ways to help in relief:

http://technolog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/05/23/6700666-joplin-tornado-how-to-help

The BGCO is also accepting donations and sending a team to Joplin on Tuesday.  Please support and pray for this group as well.  Below is a link detailing their work:

http://www.bgco.org/archives/5545

It is detailed in BGCO link, but FBC Tulsa is taking donations of food and water that will be delivered to Joplin.

If there happens to be any health care professionals reading this blog, please consider making a trip to Joplin to help, as the need there is great.

Especially those in eastern Oklahoma, I think planning a trip to Joplin to hold a prayer and worship service should not be out of the question.

In times where the need is the greatest that the church truly shows its true colors and lets the love of Christ triumph over whatever darkness and despair that comes.  For our brothers and sisters in Joplin, that time is now.  Please pray with me as I pray for Joplin.

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Church Life, Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

