Ultimate Camper… The most fun I’ve had in a long time!

I went down to Falls Creek last night to participate in the UFC Debate Camp for my dear friend Zac Workun.  If you are a faithful reader of my blog, then you remember me telling you about the concept, and how I thought it was a great idea.  I also told you that I was looking forward to it because of how much fun it sounded like.  

I have tell you, I haven’t had that much fun in quite a while.  I am still processing some things in my mind, but I wanted to offer some quick thoughts.    

First, kudos to my opponent and friend Michael Janssen.  I think we succeeded in presenting and executing on the overall theme of the fact that believers in Christ, and people who feel a calling to lead the church can have differing views regarding secondary issues of the church and still have fellowship, and even be friendly.  

Secondly, I understand that there were some leaders in the church who had to bail out because of scheduling conflict or prior obligation, but there were some who bailed on this concept because they didn’t want to defend their position, even if they have picked a fight regarding some of the same issues over social networking.  To that I say, ‘c’mon man!’  If you believe in what you believe in, then defend it, and have the gumption to stand in front of someone that holds a different view and enter into an honest debate not take pot shots on Twitter or Facebook.  What are you afraid of?  If you are afraid of standing up and defending your position in the safe confines of Falls Creek, then how are going to do so to someone who doesn’t believe at all?  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not mad that you didn’t step up to the plate, but I am disappointed.  Of course you don’t have to answer to me, so take that for what its worth.  

Thirdly, the church needs more open and honest debate, not less…as long as it is done in the way that me and Janssen did.  Believers need to see that we can hold differing and passionate views, and not resort to name calling.  Just because Janssen holds a different view than me regarding women in ministry doesn’t mean that he is wrong in a ‘lead people astray’ kind of way, and I am confident he holds the same sentiment.  Too many lines have been drawn in the sand for too many stupid reasons.  We have dug our heels in on topics that have no business being things we dig our heels in on.  And the church will never be what it needs to be until we move on from giving secondary issues primary concern.  

I had a lot of fun.  In fact, its the most fun I have had in quite a while.  Thanks to Mike and Zac for the opportunity.  And to Mike, lets do it again, shall we?  

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

