Fare Thee Well @zacworkun

Fare thee well Zac Workun!

I have moved around a little bit more than the average bear in my almost 29 years of existence.  At last count, I have had 6 area codes attributed to a phone where you could get a hold of me, and too many addresses to keep track of.  Drastic changes such as moving can be both exciting and incredibly scary.  I have found that the easiest transitions have come when the group of friends and loved ones that I left behind send me off with kind words and a foundation of love and encouragement.  So this post is intended to be just that to my friend who, with his lovely bride, is starting a new chapter in his life by moving to North Carolina to start his Seminary education at Duke.  (Editor’s note, the fact that he is going to Duke for his Master’s, with a decent amount of scholarship, shows that he has “game” in the intelligence department!)

Zac has been a dear friend, confidant, encourage, consoler, and co-conspirator (welcome to the family) over the past several years of our friendship.  We have known each other since both of us were in high school, but our friendship did not pick up in earnest until he moved back to Oklahoma City to take a position at FBC Bethany as their youth minister.

What I like about Zac is that he is incredibly intelligent, motivated, and committed.  On top of serving at FBC Bethany, he has served in a number of capacities in the fraternity that is the conglomerate of Oklahoma youth ministers.  Furthermore, he recently created an innovative creative consulting company with two other dear friends of mine called Workabull (follow them on twitter @workabull) that reaches out to ministries to take their abstract ideas about ministry and outreach and actually develop them to the point that they are able to be used ranging from writing, curriculum development, media development, and small group discussion questions just to name a few.  Workabull’s first client was Super Summer Oklahoma, as they were responsible for the new curriculum. I expect that Workabull will begin to flourish when Zac is able to devote more energy to this endeavor, and I hope that they will be in the market for writers as it begins to expand (wink wink).

There are several things that I will miss about Zac, most of which revolves around our discussions, because even though it pains me to admit it, Zac is much smarter than me, but I like to talk with people who are much smarter than me.  I will miss that Zac and I have similar ideas regarding God, church, politics, and social issues, and I have always walked away from our discussions having felt that both encouraged and sometimes enlightened.  Most of all, I will simply miss my friend.

So Fare thee well Zac.  Good luck and God bless you as you begin this new adventure in your life.  Know that there is a great deal of people that are rooting for you and that are in your corner.  Know that you are loved and that God is going to do an incredible work in you.  Know that I will miss my friend.

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Contains Personal Information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

