Old Faith and New Faith

Realizing that God has called you to serve Him in ministry is an incredible thing.  Think of it this way, God is asking you to be His partial mouthpiece in the Body of Christ.  He is asking you to direct the hands and feet of the Body of Christ.  He is directing you to exercise the spiritual muscles of the Body of Christ.  I am beginning to realize that this is a daunting task, and one that is too big for an individual.  I am realizing that leaning on God as my strength is more important than ever.  God has lovingly brought me along and has been my portion and prize.

There is one thing that I have started to think about and that is the difference between Old Faith and New Faith.  I recently had a conversation with a dear friend and we talked about the difference between old money and new money.  Having neither old or new money, I do not have a point of reference, so I had to lean on their understanding between the two.

She had told me that you can tell the difference between old and new money rather easily.  Old money doesn’t care to flaunt their money.  They go about their business in a quiet way and in a way like they have been there before.  Old money isn’t interested in the accolades and the notoriety of their wealth.  They are the ones that make an anonymous donation to their cause that they are passionate about, and nobody is the wiser.

New money is the opposite.  New money typically wants you to know that they have money.  They can’t wait to show you their new stuff.  They want you to know that they have done well…and have the toys to prove it.  The most poignant example of new money can be found on the cover of the website TMZ.  Paparazzi follows them around, because they will flaunt their new money.  In a society that lives vicariously, new money is good for a story.  New money seeks publicity, and when they make a donation to their cause, it is usually with a stipulation that a building be named after them.

I started to think about how this relates to faith and have concluded that there is old faith and new faith and the comparisons are strikingly similar to the above comparison.  Old faith is one that goes about it’s business in trying to please God everyday in a way that tries to advance the kingdom.  Their prayers are heartfelt.  When they are asked to pray in public, it feels that you are witnessing an ongoing conversation with an old friend.  Most of their spiritual disciplines are done in the “secret place” where only God sees and blesses it.  Old faith recognizes that storms will come and go.  Old faith recognizes that sometimes the storms are good, because they blow away things that aren’t rooted down and removes things (or even people) that don’t need to be there.  Old faith is a faith that has progressed from spiritual milk to something more substantive.  Old faith wants the name of Jesus to be talked about more than their own.

New faith though is immature.  New faith wants everyone to see how they pray.  New faith is more concerned sometimes about looking good rather than being good.  New faith has an excitement that is sometimes lacking in old faith (which is a good thing).  New faith doesn’t recognize that the storms will come, but when they do it is a catastrophe.  New faith hasn’t quite gotten past spiritual immaturity.  New faith gives and serves, but makes sure everyone knows about it.

Let me be clear about something.  I am not saying that new faith is worse than old faith, or vice versa.  That is not the case.  Also, I am using the terms old and new loosely because old and new faith has nothing to do with the amount of time you have been a believer.  I know people with old faith that are still teenagers and people with new faith that are close to retirement.

I am finding that when you start to see ground taken from the enemy, that he is not terribly pleased about it.  I believe that scripture is true when it says that our battle is not against flesh and blood but the spirits and authorities of darkness (Ephesians 6:12).  In other words, if you are going to choose to follow Christ in this regard, get ready to be on Satan’s radar and on his to-do list.  Get ready for the storm and to survive the storm, an old faith…a mature faith…is what is needed.

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old Faith and New Faith

  1. I know several young adults with old faith, they help me everyday ,reminding me to stay in my faith with my struggles against the World.

  2. Excellent post with keen insight. Thanks, Phillip.

  3. Mike Dabney says:

    That’s some good stuff right there, Phillip.

Leave a Reply

