Boston Marathon. “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted”

Once again, we have been touched by tragedy.  Once again, we are left to stare our own humanity in the face as we hear of innocent people getting hurt simply because they were at the wrong place at the wrong time.  Once again we are left to sort through our own struggles and face the reality that evil exists.  

Hate is not a too strong a word for this.  I HATE this.  I hate that people are hurting.  I hate that fear and anger has permeated our society.  I hate that because of someone’s twisted viewpoint that they believe that inflicting death and destruction against the innocent will further their cause.  I hate that people who terrorize don’t realize that terrorism is a 100% failure rate.  Not only do terrorists always fail at what they’re after, they pretty much always succeed in strengthening whatever it is they’re against.  I don’t think I am alone in this feeling and to an extent, I think it is justified.  I believe that we have a natural sense of justice and want those responsible to be held accountable.  

I have recently become a fan of Bob Goff, and he posted on his Twitter: 

“We’re sad, but we’re not afraid.  Not before; not now.”  

I love this, because it is perfect and concise.  We are sad because of the injuries and loss of life.  We are sad for the families because of the lives that will forever be changed because of lunacy and evil.  But we are not afraid.

The words of Jesus are more poignant now more than ever.  

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted” (Matthew 5:4).  

This is another instance of scripture where to get some meaning, we have to dig in a little bit.  Jesus says that those who mourn will be comforted.  By doing that, He says that there will be times where we will mourn.  In essence Jesus is saying there will be times where injustice and lunacy will carry the day.  However, Jesus says that in those times, when we are mourning, we will be comforted.  

I believe that this is much a command from Jesus as it is a statement of fact.  Jesus is commanding those who follow Him to be a comfort to those who are mourning.  He is not commanding us to rationalize, look for meaning, or even try to project a particular sin committed by others as reason why something like this happened.  Jesus is calling His followers to be comforters.  Today, there are people who are mourning.  We are sad with them.  We are hurting with them.  But, because of Jesus, we are not afraid. 

 

Image

About larsenphillip

I'm an imperfect disciple of Jesus Christ. I am learning that my walk with Jesus gets deeper when I drop the presumptions that I have and simply follow him. I get frustrated when people put God in a box, and presume to know how He will reach individuals, work in peoples lives, and advance His kingdom. If Tony Campolo or Jim Wallis were to call me and ask me to work for them for free...I probably would. I think one day I'll write a book, and I am a nut for STL Cardinal baseball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

